Fancy Fences and Ornate Arches: The Agra Fort

After our morning at the Taj Mahal we wandered the Agra Fort, which was full of ornate arches, fancy fences, and unrealistically-green lawns.

20140211-113236.jpg

The Agra Fort was one of the first of many we have seen while traveling through Northern India. The area is rich with history, as Agra was the capital of the Mughal Empire during the late 16th and early 17th centuries.

20140211-113213.jpg

Wandering the fort was a peaceful experience, and provided a nice view of the Taj Mahal from afar!

20140211-113257.jpg

I’ve found as I photograph India, and other places for that matter, I’m mostly interested in the architecture and decoration of buildings. The arches and fences are particularly ornate and beautiful.

20140211-113312.jpg

The fancy fences are Beth’s personal favourite, as she points them out almost everywhere we go!

20140211-113305.jpg

20140211-113249.jpg

Thank you to everyone who has been reading my blog so far! While I am a bit delayed in posting (I’m currently in Amritsar, and was in Agra about a week ago), I’m doing my best to mention everything! The lack of wifi in many parts of India delays progress because I can’t put photos in to my posts without internet access, and often when I do get access I spend time talking to people and getting caught up with the world! I have a big car ride tomorrow morning and some time in Dharamshala so I will hopefully get up to date by the time I leave India!

What do you think?

