NEW SERIES: Through My Eyes

For my 21st birthday my parents gave me a beautiful Nikon D5100. I love this camera. But I only tend to use it at the cottage or to record special occasions.

So it’s time to use it. I love to take pictures. For a project in middle school I wrote about how much I love photography, “I love the satisfying ‘click’ as you press the shutter down.” And every time I use my camera, I become totally engrossed.

My promise to myself is that I am going to make time to use it, and to go out of my way to find interesting things and places to photograph.Β I’m hoping to post 20-something pictures in 20-something days (which gives me a little leeway… I’m also going to give myself the allowance of having only half of the photos be brand new images, I have a bank of 13,000 images sitting in my iPhoto which I would love to share as well). I’m also hoping that through this series, you, the readers, will get to know me and my personality a bit better – the world through Carolyn’s eyes.

Here’s picture number 1.

DSC_0034.JPG

This is a classic photo set-up in my family, as it is the sunset view from our front dock at our beautiful cottage in Georgian Bay, Ontario. However, despite the same location, the picture is always different. I love the shapes and lines in the clouds and the glow from the sun. This is one of the first photos that I took with my camera, taken the evening of my birthday in 2011.

So what does this have to do with 20-somethings? Well, this is my simple joy, the thing I can do to take five minutes out of my day, just for me. To relax, to enjoy, to be creative. What’s yours?

What do you think?

